Skip to main content

Adjunct Faculty

Nutrition & Integrative Physiology Adjunct Faculty

Ted Adams, PhD, MPH

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Adjunct Professor - Internal Medicine

ted.adams@utah.edu 

(Office) 801-585-6469

 

 

 

 

Markus Amann, PhD, MS

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Theodore H. Stanley Presidential Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology - Department of Anesthesiology

Markus.Amann@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-582-1655 ext. 4358

VA Medical Center, GRECC 183

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Autonomic Function, Cardiovascular Physiology, Neuroscience, Neuromuscular Fatigue

 

Tyler Barker, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Senior Clinical Researcher - School of Medicine

Tyler.Barker@imail.org

(Office) 801-507-3653

Eccles Outpatient, Suite 610

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Cachexia, Cytokines, Vitamin D, Osteoarthritis, Redox Biology

 

 

Timothy A. Brusseau, PhD

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Interim Department Chair - Health & Kinesiology

tim.brusseau@utah.edu

(Office) 801-587-7900

HPER N, Room 252

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Physical Activity, Children, Youth, Schools, Interventions, Physical Fitness, Motor Skills Proficiency, Pedometers, Accelerometers

Nathalie Chevreau, PhD, RD

Adjunct Instructor - Nutrition and Integrative Physiology

n.chevreau@utah.edu

(Office) 801-652-6035

RESEARCH INTERESTS:  Dietary Supplements, Product Development, Botanicals, Hemp, Functional Foods, Regulations Compliance

 

 

Danny Chou, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Assistant Professor - Biochemistry

dchou@biochem.utah.edu

(Office) 801-587-1760

 

 

 

 

Adriana Coletta PhD, MS, RD

Assistant Professor, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

Adriana.Coletta@hci.utah.edu

(Office) 801-213-6012

HPER N, Room 250 

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Exercise, Nutrition, Cancer, Body Composition, Physical Function and Conditioning

TEACHING INTERESTS: Exercise Physiology, Metabolism

 

 

 

Anthony Donato, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Co-Director Translation Vascular Physiology Lab, Professor - Department of Internal Medicine

anthonyjdonato@gmail.com

(Office) 801-582-1565 ext. 4237

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Aging, Inflammation, Oxidative Stress, Senescence, Vascular Biology, Drug Discovery/Development

TEACHING INTERESTS: Integrative Cardiovascular Physiology, Vascular Biology, Aging, Professional Skills

 

 

 

Stavros G. Drakos, MD, PhD, FACC

Professor - Internal Medicine / Nora Eccles Treadwell Investigator / Co-Chief - Heart Failure & Transplant / Medical Director - Mechanical Circulatory Support Director of Research for Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Stavros.drakos@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-2340

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Metabolism, Heart Failure and Myocardial Recovery, Diabetes and Heart Disease, Muscle Atrophy/Hypertrophy, Aging, Exercise and Vascular Physiology, Translational Research

DRAKOS LAB

 

Micah J. Drummond, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Associate Professor - Physical Therapy & Athletic Training

micah.drummond@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-587-7764

15 N 2030 E, Room 3150

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Aging, Skeletal Muscle, Immune Cells, Nutrition, Exercise, Muscles Disuse, Rehabilitation, Muscle Atrophy/Hypertrophy, Insulin Resistance

Sharon L. Ernst, MPH, RD, CSP, FAND

Clinical Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / President and Owner - Nutritional Designs, LLC

sharon.ernst@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 435-640-4516

TEACHING INTERESTS: Pediatrics, Inborn Errors of Metabolism 

 

 

Caran Graves, MS, RDN

Clinical Instructor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

Caran.Graves@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-581-2656

50 N Medical Drive, SOM, Room B309

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Burn wound, Nutrition-Support Related

TEACHING INTERESTS: Nutrition Support, Burn & Wound, Malnutrition, Order-writing

Tanya M. Halliday, PhD, RD

Assistant Professor - Nutrition Integrative Physiology

tanya.halliday@utah.edu

(Office) 801-213-1364

HPER N, Room 212

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Appetite Regulation, Lifestyle Intervention, Eating Behaviors, Weight Loss Maintenance, Metabolic Disease Prevention and Treatment, Prediabetes

Sheetal Hardikar, PhD, MBBS

Assistant Professor - Population Health Sciences

u6016275@utah.edu

(Office) 801-213-6238

200 Circle of Hope, Room 4711

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Novel Molecular and Genetic Biomarkers, Gastrointestinal Cancers, Chronic Conditions, Cancer Screening Through Risk Stratification

 

Bryan Haycock, PhD

Adjunct Instructor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

byranhaycock@gmail.com

(Office) 801-243-4301

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Dietary Supplements

TEACHING INTERESTS: Dietary Supplements

 

Tracy Herrmann, PhD, RD

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Mindfulness Center Research Program Manger - U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Joan Heusser, RD, CSR

Clinical Instructor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Health Promotions Disease Prevention Manager - U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

joanheusser@va.gov

(Office) 801-582-1565 ext. 4246

 

Kelli Horton, MPH

Clinical Instructor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Chief, Nutrition & Food Services - U.S. Department

kelliRD@gmail.com

(Office) 801-581-6730

 

Lisa Joss-Moore, PhD

Assistant Professor (Lecturer) - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Research Professor - Pediatrics

Lisa.Joss-Moore@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-587-7486

295 Chipeta Way

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Epigenetics, Lipid Metabolism, Lung Development, Metabolism, Nutrition, Sex Divergence

 

Elizabeth Joy, MD, MPH

Clinical Instructor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Adjunct Professor - Family & Preventive Medicine

Elizabeth.Joy@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-9075

Live Well Center

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Exercise, Health and Exercise, Women's Health, Eating Disorders, Musculoskeletal Medicine, Physical Activity

 

Gabrielle Kardon, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Professor - Human Genetics

gkardon@genetics.utah.edu 

(Office) 801-585-6184

EIHG, Room 6110A

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Muscle Development, Regneration, Homeostasis, Muscle Stem Cells and Connective Tissue Fibroblasts (FAPS)

 

BK Kishore, MD, PhD, MBA

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

BK.Kishore@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-598-3389

295 Chipeta Way, Suite 4000

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Renal Physiology, Kidney Diseases, Obesity, Purinergic Signaling, Diabetes Insipidus, Disorders of Water Balance

TEACHING INTERESTS: Renal Physiology and Pathophysiology

Kent Lai, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Professor - Pediatrics

kent.lai@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-581-4510

295 Chipeta Way

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Therapeutic Development, Inborn Error of Metabolism, Genetic Disorders, Galactosemia, Mouse Models of Human Diseases 

 

Lisa Lesniewski, PhD

Associate Professor - Department of Internal Medicine

lisa.lesniewski@utah.edu

(Office) 801-582-1565 ext 2046

VA Medical Center, GRECC Building 2, Room 2D08

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Aging, Obesity, Atherosclerosis, Inflammation, Oxidative Stress, Vascular Biology

TEACHING INTERESTS: Integrative Cardiovascular Physiology, Vascular Biology, Again, Professional Skills

Janet E. Lindsley, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Professor - Biochemistry / Assistant Dean of Curriculum

janet@biochem.utah.edu

(Office) 801-581-2797

EIHG, Room 5150

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Student Learning, Student Assessment Methods, Student Identity Perceptions

TEACHING INTERESTS: Macronutrient Metabolism, Metabolism and Nutrition Related Diseases, Active Learning Strategies

Nicola Longo, MD, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Professor - Pediatrics / Adjuncts Professor - Pathology

Nicola.Longo@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-2457

295 Chipeta Way

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Carnitine, Creatine, Fatty Acid Oxidation Disorders, Membrane Transport, Phenylketonuria, Urea Cycle Disorders, Organic Acidemia

 

 

Nicole L. Mihalopoulos, MD, MPH

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Adjunct Associate Professor - Internal Medicine / Associate Professor - Pediatrics

Nicole.Mihalopoulos@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-213-4128

295 Chipeta Way

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Obesity, Heart Disease Risk Factors, Menstrual Management, Transgender Healthcare, Eating Disorders

 

Maureen A. Murtaugh, PhD, RDN

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Adjunct Professor - Ophthamology & Visual Science / Adjunct Professor - Population Health Sciences / Professor - Internal Medicine

maureen.murtaugh@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-9216

295 Chipeta  Way, Suite 1n402

TEACHING INTERESTS: Dietary Patterns, Obesity, Chronic Disease, Gastrointestinal Disorders

Gale S. Rudolph, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition and Integrative Physiology

Gale.Rudolph@basicresearch.org

(Office) 801-921-3210

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Food Industry R&D, Product Development, Nutritional Value of Food Products, Labeling

 

Jared Rutter, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Distinguished Professor - Department of Biochemistry

rutter@biochem.utah.edu

(Office) 801-581-3340

EEJMRB 5520

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Metabolism, Mitochondria, Cancer, Signaling, Allostery

 

Susan Saffel-Shrier, MS, RD, CD, Cert. Gerontologist

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Professor - Family & Preventive Medicine

Susan.Saffel-Shrier@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-560-7875

375 Chipeta Way, Suite A

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Gerontology, Geriatric, Malnutrition, Older Adults

TEACHING INTERESTS:  Gerontology, Geriatric, Malnutrition, Older Adults

Amnon Schlegel

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Associate Professor - Internal Medicine / Adjunct Assistant Professor - Biochemistry Research

amnons@u2m2.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-7030

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Alpha Cell, Diabetes, Dyslipidemia, Energy Metabolism, Glucagon, Glucose, Metabolism, Type 2 diabetes mellitus, Nutrition, Nutrition, Metabolism, Translational Research, Transcriptional Regulation

Janet M. Shaw, PhD, FACSM

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Associate Professor - Health-Kinesiology

Janet.Shaw@health.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-5107

HPER N, Room 206

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Women's Health, Physical Activity, Pelvic Floor, Exercise, Intra-Abdominal Pressure

 

Yan-Ting Shiu, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor - Internal Medicine

Y.Shiu@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-582-1565 ext 1704

295 Chipeta Way, Suite 4000

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Cardiovascular Disease, Chronic Kidney Disease, Metabolic Disorder, Hemodialysis, Vascular Access

 

Kristine Spence, MS, RDN, CSSD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

kristi.spence@utah.edu

(Office) 801-430-8067

HPER W, Room 108F

TEACHING INTERESTS: Integrated Communications

 

Traci Thompson, MS, CSCS, ACSM HFD

Associate Professor - Health & Kinesiology / Director - PEAK Health & Fitness

traci.thompson@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-7325

HPER E, Room 217

TEACHING INTERESTS: Fitness, Wellness Coaching, Health Education 

Joel D. Trinity, PhD

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Research Associate Professor - Internal Medicine

joel.trinity@utah.edu 

(Office) 801-582-1565 ext 1794

VA Medical Center, Bldg 2, Room 1C07

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Cardiovascular Physiology, Exercise & Aging, Hypertension, Blood Flow, Nitric Oxide, Endothelium Vascular 

 

Charlotte Vincent

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

cvincent@utah.gov

(Office) 801-538-3925

 

 

 

 

Stacie Lynn Wing-Gaia, PhD, RD, CSSD

Adjunct Associate Professor- Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Bionutritionist - Center for Clinical & Translational Science

Stacie.Wing@health.utah.edu

(Office) 801-581-5417

 

 

 

 

Steven Matley Wood

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology

STEVENW@NUSKIN.COM

(Office) 801-581-6730

 

 

 

 

D. Walter Wray, Ph.D

Adjunct Associate Professor - Nutrition & Integrative Physiology / Associate Professor - Internal Medicine

walter.wray@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-582-1565

500 Foothill Drive

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Vascular Function, Exercise Physiology, Aging, Muscle Blood Flow, Heart Failure

 

Tianxin Yang

Adjunct Professor - Nutrition & INtegrative Physiology / Professor - Internal Medicine

tianxin.yang@hsc.utah.edu

(Office) 801-585-5570